Friday, March 26, 2010

Here Burns My Candle by Liz Cutis Higgs blog tour

A mother who cannot face her future.
A daughter who cannot escape her past.

Lady Elisabeth Kerr is a keeper of secrets. A Highlander by birth and a Lowlander by marriage, she honors the auld ways, even as doubts and fears stir deep within her.
Her husband, Lord Donald, has secrets of his own, well hidden from the household, yet whispered among the town gossips.
His mother, the dowager Lady Marjory, hides gold beneath her floor and guilt inside her heart. Though her two abiding passions are maintaining her place in society and coddling her grown sons, Marjory’s many regrets, buried in Greyfriars Churchyard, continue to plague her.
One by one the Kerr family secrets begin to surface, even as bonny Prince Charlie and his rebel army ride into Edinburgh in September 1745, intent on capturing the crown.
A timeless story of love and betrayal, loss and redemption, flickering against the vivid backdrop of eighteenth-century Scotland , Here Burns My Candle illumines the dark side of human nature, even as hope, the brightest of tapers, lights the way home.
(from the back cover)

My Thoughts:
Here Burns My Candle is by far one of my favorite novels set during the Jacobite Rebellion. Thoroughly researched and historically accurate, Liz Curtis Higgs takes readers into the heart of Edinburgh during a trying time in the Scotland’s history. With lovable characters, intricately laced plots, and a brilliant usage of Lowland Scots, Liz Curtis Higgs will transport you into the novel. This is the perfect book to escape into. Whether you are a first time reader or and avid fan of Liz’s work Here Burns my Candle is guaranteed entertain and amuse readers as you journey with the Kerr family and discover their secrets.

Here Burns My Candle also includes;
-Authors Notes, that you do not want to skip
-Lowland Scots Glossary incase you are unfamiliar with the language
-Readers Guide a perfect for book clubs
-Quotes, each chapter beings with an amazing quote that highlights the coming events.

Don’t forget to watch for the next addition to the Kerr’s journey, Mine Is The Night

If you loved Here Burns My Candle and want to journey once again to the Scottish Lowlands look for the following novels by Liz Curtis Higgs:

1 Thorn In My Heart (book 1)
2 Fair Is The Rose (book 2)
3 Whence Came A Prince (book 3)

4 Grace In Thine Eyes ( a story that follows the Lowland Fiction Series)

Want to travel to the Lowlands but can‘t find the time? Then let Liz Curtis Higgs show you around in this armchair travel guide:

1 My Heart’s In The Lowlands

Want to buy this book? Click Here For Ordering Information

Author Bio:
LIZ CURTIS HIGGS is the author of twenty-seven books with three million copies in print, including: her best-selling historical novels, Thorn in My Heart, Fair Is the Rose, Christy Award-winner Whence Came a Prince, and Grace in Thine Eyes, a Christy Award finalist; My Heart’s in the Lowlands: Ten Days in Bonny Scotland, an armchair travel guide to Galloway; and her contemporary novels, Mixed Signals, a Rita Award finalist, and Bookends, a Christy Award finalist. Visit the author’s extensive website at

No comments: